TEEN SUICIDE

Here’s my take on teen suicide

“Two months ago was the first time I cried during parent/teacher conferences. A mom of a student who I have taught for two years showed up at my table with a list of her daughter’s teachers. Each one had “yes” or “no” written next to it. My name had a “yes” next to it, so she proceeded to explain to me the reason for her daughter’s extended absence. Her daughter- a friendly, intelligent, beautiful, driven, young woman- not only planned to commit suicide, but was in the act of doing so when the police got a Safe 2 Tell report, broke in, and stopped her. She had deleted her social media accounts and left goodbye letters; she was ready to leave the world. As her mom sat across from me, we both had tears streaming down our faces. Feeling helpless, I asked if I could write my student a letter to be delivered to her at the hospital; she said her daughter would love that. My student got the letter; her mom said that her daughter cried, turned to her mom and said, “How could somebody say such nice things about me? I didn’t think anybody would miss me if I was gone.” It made me realize that I was way too close to losing another student to suicide. I spent the next 2 months writing cards to every one of my students- over 100 of them- telling each one what is special and unique about them. Suicide is growing to be more and more common, and I can’t help but to think that it’s a direct result of the pressure we put on these kids- to be successful, to fit in, to be the best in their class/sport/etc. We need to remember that each human being is unique, and that is what makes them special. Instead of trying to change it, we need to embrace it, because together, we can make a difference, and we can save lives!”

Credit: Brittni Darras

This is a quote I have picked off my Facebook page today  –  7 September 2016 – and I want to add my ten cents worth to the wisdom of Ms Brittni Darras on teen suicide.

This is for teens who are feeling at the bottom of the barrel where feelings and emotions are concerned . What I see and hear in the media these days is that kids are so fucking cruel to other kids that I witness all this with my jaw dropping to the floor with sickness and pain for the kids who are the targets of these nasty & vicious attacks. Where does the hate and cruelty come from? Is it from stupidity – I mean are the attackers – girls and boys – so stupid that they cannot conceive of the real damage that they are doing to their targets !? Don’t they get it that when they call some kid a “loser” and a “douchebag” and “moron” and how their Mommy “must have dressed them” and how their shoes are only fit “for the garbage” – that the kid farts or has bad breath – that they are destroying that kid’s will to live for that day? That the kid is so destroyed that they don’t want to leave the bathroom – that they can’t go to class when all their classmates have heard the attack and their embarrassment and that they want to crawl into a hole in the ground and pull the dirt over themselves with pain and embarrassment – that they want to go home and die in their beds? I mean have these smartass teenagers no ears to hear how disgusting they sound when they shit on some other kid ? Don’t they see the blood of shame rush into the faces of their targets and see the sweat from the pain and shame start to drip ? What kind of an animal could do that to another human being and expect their pals to cheer them on and approve of their nastiness – to smirk and smile  ?

How could they be such MONSTERS? Such MICHAEL MYERS types? How could the boys even think of kissing a girl after they have poured verbal slime & shit over some poor kid whose only fault was to be shy or to have a limp or a stammer or that his single mom could only afford “those fucked-up” sneakers for her? 

I HAVE TO STOP for a minute to catch my breath here… to try to weigh the value of what I am saying about that little shitty gang of mean-spirited human beings! Think about their mothers and fathers and the shame and disgust they would feel if they could see & hear what their children were doing to other kids, other teens. It’s almost too hard to credit it. I have to re-read it  again so I can really weigh what I am accusing other boys and girls of doing & being!! But I just stay angry at the nasty kids. I just hope and hope that the kids who are the targets of these punks can be strong enough or have a friend or a family member to tell the story to and hear how the attackers are just punks and low-lifes and help them be strong enough to square their shoulders and get up for school the next morning – I hope that they have parents – a Mom or a Dad or a brother or sister – who will undertand and stop the tears and the misery from boiling over – and STOP THAT KID from thinking about killing him or her self.

Enough on that subject – it just makes me sick. It makes my wife sick so that she can’t bear to talk about it for too long – so that we both say our few sentences of shock and anguish at the tale of some new kid who has hung herself or himself and wonder what the hell we are supposed to say or do about it.

Basta!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About stilesroad

Retired corporate monkey and speakeasy doorman. I done taught some and whittled some; I sought the divine with a divining rod and got my foot caught in a groundhog entrance - to prostrate self before the mammal gods and, finally, wept for my hawthorn tree and the escape lane opposite.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

